EWI of Richmond Awards 10 Scholarships to Adult Students

EWI of Richmond Awards Ten $2,000 Scholarships

Guest Speaker – Aaron Montgomery, Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer of CarLotz

On Thursday, July 14, 2016, Executive Women International (EWI) of Richmond awarded ten scholarships through the “Adult Students in Scholarship Transition” (ASIST) program.  The event was hosted at the Parham Road Campus of Reynolds Community College by Dr. Gary L. Rhodes, President.  ASIST Chair, Angela Roisten (Virginia Credit Union), and committee members Donna Edwards (United Way of Greater Richmond & Petersburg), Viki Frankkenburger (Virginia Credit Union) and Essie Weiss (Legacy of Virginia) put together a fantastic evening to celebrate these students.  Guest speaker Aaron Montgomery gave a passionate speech about what he learned on his journey growing up, college and co-founding CarLotz using his passion for car sales to drive him.  He told us to “Tune it Out” – there will always be negative people, but you need to tune them out and not let them steal your passion, and “Turn it Up” when you are with positive people and influencers.

Executive Women International, a global professional’s organization, is a champion of education and community involvement.  Every year the Richmond Chapter through its Business/Careers/Development Program (“B/C/DP”) participates in two different scholarship programs, one of which is the ASIST program.  ASIST is a flexible scholarship program that addresses the needs of adults who want to complete or continue their education.  The ASIST scholarship benefits adult students who are facing work/life challenges and need financial assistance for education to achieve their career goals. The EWI of Richmond believes the ASIST Program will positively impact the recipients’ personal lives, employment, family and community.  Each year the EWI of Richmond awards ten adult students with $2,000 scholarships.  This year’s recipients are as follows: Sandra Borden, Catrice Caffee, Dawn Comer, Johanna Cruz Paz, Catherine Gibson, Angela Graves, Patrice Jean, Paulette McCain, Kimberly Moore Harris and Shadeki Sutherland.  Sandra Borden was also selected as The Thomas N. Chewning Award winner and her application will be submitted to the EWI Corporate Headquarters and entered into competition to receive additional scholarship funds.  Congratulations to all of our winners!

EWI of Richmond is incredibly grateful to Dominion Resources, who once again generously contributed a $25,000 donation to the EWI of Richmond B/C/DP fund that sponsors the ASIST and EWISP scholarships each year.  Brenda Long and Sarah Scott presented the check to President Toni Bastian (Richmond Region Tourism) the same evening.

Special thanks to our gracious host, Dr. Gary L. Rhodes, President of Reynolds Community College and our three 2016 ASIST Judges, Brian R. Cannon, Executive Director of OneVirginia2021, Timothy A. Glynn, CPA, Chief Financial Officer of Froehling & Robertson, Inc., and William “Wes” Seaton, III, Business Development Manager – Capital Region, Virginia Department for Aging & Rehabilatative Services.

IMG_0032 IMG_0042