About EWI of Richmond Chapter


EWI of Richmond was chartered June 6, 1967 with Mrs. Lucylle F. Gordon as President and 22 Member Firms. Of those 22 original firms there are only two remaining; Universal Leaf Tobacco Company (now Universal Corporation) and the Richmond Chamber of Commerce (now ChamberRVA).

Our Chapter boundaries include the cities of Richmond, Ashland, Williamsburg, Petersburg, Hopewell and Colonial Heights, and Counties of Amelia, Caroline, Charles City County, Chesterfield, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, Louisa, New Kent, Powhatan and Prince George. A Member Firm’s primary business location must be in one of these locations.

As of November 2021, the Chapter directory lists 24 diverse member firms, 31 representatives, 7 honorary members, and 4 life members.

Representatives from Member Firms annually elect a ten-member Board of Directors who serve from October to the following September. The responsibility of the Board is to administer Chapter business affairs, and provide leadership and assistance in establishing and carrying out the goals of the Chapter.

Download our brochure here.

Download our bylaws here.

Access the 2018 EWI Standing Rules Approved November 8, 2018.


EWI of Richmond generously supports and contributes to the community by supporting Corporate Philanthropic Programs as follows:

  • EWISP (EWI Scholarship Program): Provides up to three $2,500 Scholarships to successful High School Juniors.
  • ASIST (Adult Students in Scholastic Transition): Provides up to ten $2,000 Scholarships to successful candidates.
  • Reading Rally (Literacy): The Richmond Chapter conducts a Reading Rally in the fall every year, to give children of the inner city a day of fun. Arts and crafts, activities (to include musicians, dancers, etc), and lunch are all provided. Prior to leaving the festival each child receives a goody bag filled with a book, crayons, ruler, colored paper, etc.


EWI offers many benefits to both the representative and the company. Individuals who participate in EWI have access to a variety of events and programs, and their companies benefit through the professional connections and the recognition as business leaders in their communities.

With the expansion of our new website currently under way, EWI Richmond Chapter will soon be able to provide active Chapter members access to “members only” features including:

  • Online Member Directory
  • Document Repositories
  • Chapter Reference Library
  • Featured Articles by Member Representatives
  • and much, much more.

For detailed information about EWI Membership please see our Membership page.


All Chapter meetings are open to members only; all guests are by invitation only due to our non-compete rule. Business dress is appropriate for EWI monthly meetings.

  • Meetings are held on the evening of the second Thursday of every month. (For further details see Events)
  • The format includes a networking reception from 5:30 to 6:00, followed by dinner and a relevant program.
  • Current monthly meeting fees to attend is $35.00 for active Representatives, guests, life and honorary members.
  • For attendance purposes, Representatives must sign in at the hospitality table at each meeting.
  • The Chapter provides each Representative with a name badge to be worn at Chapter meetings.

EWI Richmond Past Chapter Presidents

1967-68 – Lucylle F. Gordon*, Nationsbank

1969 – Beverly S. Mason, Lawyers Title Insurance Corporation

1970 – Hilda Johnson*, Universal Leaf Tobacco Company, Inc.

1971 – Gerry Ewing*, Ethyl Corporation

1972 – Patricia A. Sims, Robert L. Figg & Sons, Inc.

1973 – Jo Anne Cole, Retail Merchants Association of Greater Richmond

1974 – Marjorie C. Hawkins*, American Airlines, Inc.

1975 – Marjorie A. Wall*, Bill’s Barbecue, Inc.

1976 – Doris Gill, Robertshaw Controls Company

1977 – Carolyn Fleming, Richmond, Fredericksburg & Potomac Railroad Company

1978 – Jerry Rutledge, Miller & Rhoads

1979 – Jane S. Reilly*, Greater Richmond Transit Company

1980 – Jacquelin Williams, Kings Dominion

1981 – Margaret Cunningham, Virginia Retail Merchants Association

1982 – Anita Haeberlin, Sovran Bank

1983 – Diane Griffin*, Dick Strauss Ford-Isuzu-Suzuki, Inc.

1985 – Shirley Hess, A. H. Robins Company

1986 – Patricia A. Averett, Harrison & Bates, Inc.

1987 – Beverly K. Beadles, Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Company of Virginia

1988 – Eloise Jackson, Kings Dominion

1989 – Frances E. Minner*, Hunton & Williams

1990 – Lynn B. Webster, Cadmus Communications Corporation

1991 – Emily H. Lester, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

1992 – Connie Pollard, East West Partners

1993 – Lillie Stratton, Greater Richmond Partnership, Inc.

1994 – Carolyn W. Yates*, Greater Richmond Chamber Of Commerce

1995 – Elizabeth M. Perry, Trigon Healthcare, Inc.

1996 – Elizabeth Wilkes, Philip Morris USA

1997 – Debora Honodel, Southern States Cooperative

1998 – Michelle G. Lovatt, Metro Richmond Convention & Visitors Bureau

1999 – Judy L. Koger, Capital Region Airport Commission

2000 – Carolyn Raskind, Westminster Canterbury Richmond

2001 – Debbie P. Clark, Universal Corporation

2002 – Mary P. Tinnell, Philip Morris USA

2003 – Karen F. Balmer, Virginia Commonwealth University

2004 – Karen L. Burke, IBM

2005 – Viki T. Frankenburger, Virginia Credit Union

2006 – Jody R. Baldwin, Citizens and Farmers Bank

2007 – Susan Lawton, Venturi Staffing Partners

2008 – Sylvia Gunter, The Dunmar Companies

2009 – Donna Edwards*, United Way of Greater Richmond & Petersburg

2010 – Christine Slate, Barrett Capital Management, LLC

2011 – Lauren Cordrey, Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield

2012 – Brenda Long, Dominion Resources

2013 – Dr. Heather Williamson, Transformation Group, LLC

2014 – Angela Roisten, Virginia Credit Union

2015 – Karen Kuhn, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

2016 – Toni Bastian, Richmond Region Tourism

2017 – Karen Huffman, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

2018 – Ann Bushey, Reynolds Community College

2019 – Michele Rundstrom, Universal Corporation

2020 – Jennifer Benton, Virginia Credit Union, Inc.

2021 – Tanya Johnson, Community Foundation for a greater Richmond

2022 – Debbie Clark, Universal Corporation